My life has always been about the school thing. You know; get grades, go to a good school, do the “right” course etc etc. I thought much like that till I finished high school. And in the period before University I started picking things, learning things, questioning things… I think it was boredom induced. I mean when you’re bored you think and overthink things… Okay, for me at least. So within that period of a metamorphosing mentality, I realised I really wasn’t doing anything for me. I was going to Uni cos it was a social construct , I wanted to read Law cos my mom wanted me to read law… I really wasn’t doing much for myself. So I started writing. I used to write in junior high but I didn’t think it was a big deal till I posted a few on my WordPress and I got great responses. So I put up more. 

But I’m drifting … I do this. I’m sorry. One another thing I’ve always found to love is fashion. Making clothes, wearing them, looking amazing. I’m not good at the looking amazing part, but I love clothes. So it’s not a surprise that I found my way into fashion. Although, it kinda is. I never thought I’d own a clothing line and be a designer. Not at age 20 at least. Never would I thought that 5 years ago. Or even a year ago. 

But I suppose something’s are laid in by Karma. 

My baby, Afro Volf, is one today on the 9th of August 2015. It’s been a tough but exciting year. For young adults I think we’ve done well raising her up. And be “we” I mean my self and my partner Anita Falke. Anita Falke who I have known for 7years. Anita Falke with the quirky sense of humour and classic lady fashion style. 

 

from our first photoshoot! The Lupa
  
one of our firts furs. the Kenyon
  
first fur! the velvela
 
See, we are Completely different when it comes to our clothing styles. She’s the hot, well dressed girl with the skirts and dresses. I’m the tomboyish one who dresses for comfort. You know, denims and shirts and sneakers…

   
    
 

Us! just look at the difference in clothing choices
 
 So it’s remarkable that our two VERY different styles could merge and birth Afro Volf: the Afro centric urban clothing brand. Our Baby. Our Wolf who is a Leo. 

We’ve had our arguments raising her. From finances to what to make and how to package and who pays more attention. But it’s made us better people and made our baby better too. 

 

bits from the Bankulize video by Mr Eazi, DJ Julz and Pappy Kojo
  
summer fur! high low ankara crop top
I’m

  

From the Crescent Collection for men
  
 We’ve gone from basic dashiki crop tops, to men’s shirts and kimonos. We’ve gone from runways (ok just one runway) to making custom clothing and styling (did you see us I. Mr Eazi’s bankulize video??? Yhhhhhh ). For a one year old, our baby’s been busy. And is gonna be for a while. Cos we, Anita and I, we’re not stopping here, or now. Perhaps you can join us on our journey for more. Because we are hungry! And thirsty! And unrelenting! We are wolves! Corny but yes.., think of this, they say the Lion is the King of the Jungle and the Tiger is the most fearful of beasts, but we never see Wolves in the Circus do we? 

Yh.., beyond it. We about to get this woooork! Random, but yes. 

So as we celebrate our first birthday I’d like to thank everyone who’s held it down for us. 

My family, Anita’s family, Pentatonix, Elton Leighton, Tosin, Bernard, Joshua, Edudzi, Mensima, Beatrice, Bishops, Bishop, Viktor, Steve, Edna, Dwamena, and so many true pack members I may have forgotten. 

Afro Volf is not a brand, or a company or some random African girls’ label. It’s a family, it’s a pack. And in as much as it is not anywhere yet, it’s just a cub, you’re gonna hate it when we grow fangs and you’re not in our pack. You’re gonna. 

Follow the pack on Instagram / twitter :@afro_volf

On Facebook: Afro Volf 

Email: afrovolf@gmail.com
Stay Sunny 🌞